To view this site please upgrade or use another browser. Try either Chrome, Safari, FireFox, Opera or Microsoft Edge.

Tunnel Vision

Tunnel Vision is a collaborative exhibition by twelve of the Royal Institute of Art’s MFA students and is curated by the first-year’s Master’s Curating Art Students from Stockholm University.

For the Nobel Week Lights, visitors are invited to Tysta Marigången, a passageway located near T-Centralen, spanning the distance between Tegelbacken and S:ta Clara in the center of Stockholm.

Containing multimedia works, light sculptures, performances and sound installations, Tunnel Vision is an opportunity to explore artworks inspired by the Anthropocene, friendship, loneliness, borders, and the power of poetry.

behind the trees, iron
gates of the private houses,
the shuttered rooms

somehow deserted, abandoned,

as though it were the artist’s
duty to create
hope, but out of what? what?

‘October’ by Louise Glück, Nobel Laureate in Literature 2020

Tysta Marigången is a sensory threshold, a liminal passage between states of mind; a place and a non-place. It is a walk-through passage located in the center of Stockholm, and yet barely used and unknown to most. What is this tunnel’s purpose? Has it been here all this time? Will it still be here in the future? Where will I end up if I enter? Through passages, cities create ways of going out and coming back in.

Tunnel Vision serves as a portal into a different way of understanding public space and our role in it, a different state of Stockholm. Here, the hidden struggles, the bubbling tensions of the city are brought to the surface. The tunnel is both cold and quiet, but it can also be loud with hopes, disappointments, and the echoes of passing cyclists.


Theres K Agdler, Akay & Olabo, Christine Dahl Helweg-Larsen, Astrid Eriksson, Sara Ekholm Eriksson, Charlotte Landelius, Linnea Lindberg, Mehregan Meysami, tm, Lior Nønne Malue Hansen, Manos Saklas, Aske Thiberg


Joel Albinsson, Hanna Bargheer, Yul Cho, Jeanette Gunnarsson, Victoria McCarthy, Katinka Saarnak, Ifra Shariq, Johanna Rüskamp, Katrine Østergaard

Supervising professor, Lina Selander.